Today I learned…

Today (well, technically yesterday now) I learned that I just need to admit how directionally challenged I am. I took not one, not two, but three wrong turns on the way to work this morning. Yes, I was going the same exact route I’ve driven every other day this week. Yes, I thought I was ready to graduate from using my GPS. Clearly, I was mistaken. It may also have had something to do with the 4-5 hours of sleep a night I’ve been getting all too consistently as of late, but if I’m being honest that was only a small contributor. Regardless, operation earl(ier)y bedtime starts Sunday.

Today I learned that there is such beauty in the state of being undone. That’s a big lesson for just one day; in reality it’s a lesson I’ve been learning over the past few weeks/months. Even the aforementioned driving faux pas served as a small reminder that I am far from infallible and I struggle on my own. I’m getting closer to the point now where I’m able to sincerely thank God for those humbling reminders. Many of the reminders lately have been quite bigger than a few missed exits on the highway, but the more difficult and humbling the experience, the larger the opportunity for growth. God cannot be made greater in me until I am made less.

Heard this line in a song recently. She describes me all too well…

There’s just something in this amateur that thinks my opinion is what You need on how to work in me.

O God, You are all-wise and sovereign. Therefore we thank You for keeping in Your hands, not ours, the final determination of which paths are influential for Christ in our lives. We confess our sin and fallibility. We do not want to run the world. We want You to run it. We rejoice that our best efforts may yield modest fruit… and our most foolish choices may be made the means of great fruit. -John Piper, Life is a Vapor

About Amy

So here is where Wordpress encourages me to include some interesting and witty "biographical info". Biography essentially means 'life recorded' (thank you, basic Greek knowledge). I guess technically they should term it "autobiographical info" since I'm writing it about myself, right? Well, I'd like my autobiography to be about someone other than me. How's that for an oxymoron. Not to us, but to Your name be the glory [Psalm 115:1]
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Today I learned…

  1. shanspain says:

    Amy. So true. I learned that this summer!
    http://shanspain.tumblr.com/post/945533774/lifelessons

    Love you! Hope all is well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

