I guess you may call me Benedict…

Some life events of pretty colossal significance have occurred since my last blog post. It’s almost shocking how quickly things can change… and I’m sure I am just at the tip of the iceberg in really understanding that. For example, on May 8th I was a college student. One day later, I was not. If we want to get more technical, at 10:44am (I may have just pulled that time out of thin air) on May 9th I was a college student. One minute later, with just a flip of a tassel, I could no longer claim the title ‘student’.  I suddenly found myself ‘title-less’ and wasn’t too sure how to handle that.

For the next couple weeks I played a thrilling waiting game as Dook (…that’s probably unprofessional but old habits die hard) Hospital deliberated on the candidates they interviewed for their new graduate nurse fellowship program. I interviewed on two units within their Children’s Hospital and am proud to say that I now have a ‘big girl’ job! Yes, let’s all pause to appreciate the irony of Amy Elizabeth Humphrey working at Duke. It was the same strange and sudden change of events… on May 21st, with one phone call from HR, I went from being an unemployed college graduate clueless about her future to a nurse on Duke’s pediatric medical-surgical unit.

Finally, I will be returning to Pallisa, Uganda this summer for a medical mission trip (more on that to come!) with a small team of young adults. We were having some difficulty raising the funds and I have got to be honest about the doubts I was having. I could hear God telling me to rest and trust, but it was quite the struggle for me to do so. Praise The Lord (PTL as one of my good friends likes to say) that He brought in just the right amount in just the right time for us to purchase our plane tickets!

So to recap: Graduated college. Got a job. Spending July in Uganda.

All I can say is God is so good, and He taught me so much through the way this past month has unfolded. I won’t bore you with a soliloquy here, but I do want to share one thing… Why is it that we feel so much more confident and content when our life and future plans are “settled”? I think it’s because it allows us to feel some semblance of control, like we are orchestrating the events in our life… but in reality, it is God who has chosen to unveil to us the next portion of the path. And who are we to think that things cannot change in a matter of seconds? Just as suddenly as “unsettled” became “settled” for me as of late, it can change right back. One of my most frequent prayers is this:

Lord, forgive my arrogance, my attempts to be self-sufficient and operate apart from you. Let me live my life uncomfortably, constantly stepping out in faith, such that I’m in trouble if You don’t come through. I am secure in You alone.

Whom have I in heaven but You? And earth has nothing I desire besides You. My flesh and my heart my fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever. [Psalm 73:25-26]

About Amy

So here is where Wordpress encourages me to include some interesting and witty "biographical info". Biography essentially means 'life recorded' (thank you, basic Greek knowledge). I guess technically they should term it "autobiographical info" since I'm writing it about myself, right? Well, I'd like my autobiography to be about someone other than me. How's that for an oxymoron. Not to us, but to Your name be the glory [Psalm 115:1]
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

